Passover–by Javier

A student can look at Spring Break as the dim light at the end of a tunnel, offering one a chance to rest and relax and not think about books and projects. Not everyone gets a chance to take a break from reading. Spring break is usually done during Easter week which usually coincides with a holiday  known as Passover for people who are Jewish. The term Passover as a whole just felt very foreign to me as I am not Jewish, however I was once given the opportunity to work as a server to cater a Passover event in a resort last year.

The experience was a long and strenuous 12 days, however I did get an opportunity to learn and see for myself what Passover consisted of. On top of that I did get an opportunity to talk to many of the resorts guests, young and old, and that have come from Israel, Mexico, Argentina, as well as from all parts of the United States, to share this holiday with their families. The experience was a revealing one for me as I got a chance to see the distinction between the older and newer generations of Jewish families. Despite the numerous different groups of people that were there, conservative or modern, one thing remained constant: family bond is what mattered the most at the end of the day.

I learned that in Jewish practice, two Seder meals are done during the first two nights of Passover. Other than bringing out the Seder plates and the rest of the food, I was not permitted to talk to any of the guests. However after that I engaged in many conversations with many guests. The older crowd usually looks forward to Passover to spend time with family, while some of the younger crowd thinks Passover is a drag. I was thrown off by the idea that a plate and eating utensils used for dairy foods could not be mixed with ones that are used for meat foods. When I asked if this is only done during Passover, I was told that it is an everyday thing. I was also baffled when certain patrons of the resort would ask me to press the elevator button for them as they could not use electricity related items during specific times during the day. I was however intrigued that despite the strain that these tasks might impose on other people, everyone here was nonchalant about it. To them it just seemed like another day and this kind of commitment is what struck me the most of the devotion that these families put into this beautiful religion. During this time is when I would see the families bond the most, reading together, playing board games, singing songs and just generally doing everything as a unit. There is no denying that when these families are reunited, they are only engulfed in happiness and that has left a lasting impression on me.

This entry was posted in Student Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

